AUTUMN-WINTER 2020-2021 HAUTE COUTURE COLLECTION

EYRE

LONG WHITE DRESS IN DRAPED TULLE EMBROIDERED WITH A MARCEL MARIËN’S QUOTE IN BLAK CREPE RAT TAIL © Dior

 

Surrealist images manage to make visible what is in itself invisible. I’m interested in mystery and magic, which are also a way of exorcising uncertainty about the future,” says Maria Grazia Chiuri of her autumn-winter 2020-2021 haute couture collection.

During this unprecedented period, the Creative Director of Dior women’s collections chose to focus on the work of artists such as Lee Miller, Dora Maar and Jacqueline Lamba, who transcended the role of “muses” to which their beauty had initially relegated them in order to champion – in their lives and surrealist works – a different femininity.

The new collection is imbued with that attitude: one that is connected, attuned to nature and transformation. Certain pieces display spectacular gradations of red, like a coral reef swaying in the glimmer of the ocean. The colors of paintings by Leonora Carrington and Dorothea Tanning live on in these creations through luminous hues and dreamworlds.

For the Eyre dress, the quote “Blanche et muette, habillée des pensées que tu me prêtes” (White and mute, dressed with the thoughts you lend me), is inspired from a Marcel Mariën’s photograph  Le Tableau Blanc (1953). The same quote is written by hand on the back of a naked lady posing from behind.

This practice of combining words and the female body runs through Mariën’s entire photographic work, whether the letters are painted directly on the body, or whether they are placed on the body itself, or whether he enhances postcards depicting female nudes with words. The female body is used as a «white board», the words bringing meaning.

EYRE

LONG WHITE DRESS IN DRAPED TULLE EMBROIDERED WITH A MARCEL MARIËN’S QUOTE IN BLAK CREPE RAT TAIL © Dior

 

LE TABLEAU BLANC

Marcel Mariën, Le tableau blanc (The white board), 1953, original photograph © Fondation Marcel Mariën. 

For more informations about the autumn-winter 2020-2021 haute couture collection, please go visit Dior official website.

COLLECTION HAUTE COUTURE DIOR AUTOMNE-HIVER 2020-2021

EYRE

ROBE LONGUE EN TULLE DRAPÉ BLANC BRODÉE D’UNE CITATION DE MARCEL MARIËN RÉALISÉE EN QUEUE DE RAT DE CRÊPE NOIR © Dior

« Les images surréalistes parviennent à rendre visible ce qui est en soi invisible. Je m’intéresse au mystère et à la magie, qui sont aussi une façon d’exorciser l’incertitude quant au futur », confie Maria Grazia Chiuri au sujet de sa collection haute couture automne-hiver 2020-2021.

En cette période particulière, la Directrice Artistique des collections femme de Dior a souhaité porter son regard sur le travail d’artistes telles que Lee Miller, Dora Maar et Jacqueline Lamba, qui transcendent le rôle de « muses » auquel leur beauté les avait initialement réduites, pour mettre en scène – dans leur vie et dans leurs œuvres surréalistes – une autre féminité.

Cette nouvelle collection est empreinte de cette attitude : connectée, à l’écoute de la nature et de sa transformation. Des pièces arborent un dégradé de rouge spectaculaire, telle une barrière de corail ondoyant dans les lueurs de l’océan. Les couleurs des tableaux de Leonora Carrington et Dorothea Tanning habitent les créations de leurs nuances lumineuses et de leur imaginaire.

Pour la robe Eyre, la citation « Blanche et muette, habillée des pensées que tu me prêtes », provient d’une photographie de Marcel Mariën intitulée Le Tableau Blanc (1953). La même citation y est écrite à la main sur le corps nu d’une femme posant de dos.

Cette pratique visant à combiner mots et corps féminin traverse toute l’œuvre photographique de Mariën, soit que les lettres soient peintes à même le corps, soit qu’elles soient posées sur lui ou encore qu’il vienne rehausser des cartes postales représentant des nus féminins au moyen de mots. Le corps féminin est utilisé comme un « tableau blanc », les mots amenant du sens.

EYRE

ROBE LONGUE EN TULLE DRAPÉ BLANC BRODÉE D’UNE CITATION DE MARCEL MARIËN RÉALISÉE EN QUEUE DE RAT DE CRÊPE NOIR © Dior

LE TABLEAU BLANC

Marcel Mariën, Le tableau blanc, 1953, photographie originale © Fondation Marcel Mariën. 

Pour plus d’informations sur la collection Haute Couture Automne – Hiver 2020 – 2021, rendez-vous sur le site officiel de Dior